The Institute of Social Hypocrisy

The Institute of Social Hypocrisy
Author: Victor Boullet
Publisher: Frenetic Happiness
Language: English
Pages: 354
Size: 21.10 x 29.5 cm
Weight: 964 g
Binding: Softcover
ISBN: 9780954401696
Price: €18.00
Product Description

The Institute of Social Hypocrisy, 2009 - 2011, was a performance artwork by Victor Boullet that served to front a collaborative art program by providing a fictitious level of authority behind which the artist’s activities could reign free. During its lifetime The Institute permitted a selection of artists, curators, writers to participate in a venture that moved beyond the activities within its Paris walls and onto an international stage.

This weighty publication is not only the complete summary of the events, installations, exhibitions and publications that comprised The Institute of Social Hypocrisy, but also an abundance of additional information provides a glimpse behind the scenes.

Emails and correspondence between participants and a comprehensive photographic documentary open a window onto the engagement of the diverse contributors and the processes involved in its creation.

The book serves as the ongoing physical remains of this involved project and is the opportunity to experience the totality of the events included.

Some participants - Edie McKay, Oliver Laric, Theodor Barth, Richard Parry, Matilde du Sordet, Bjarne Melgaard, Merlin Carpenter, Damien Airault, Petrit Halilaj, Irene Moon, Michele di Menna, Annette Ruenzler, Aleksandra Domanovic, Matias Faldbakken, Gert Jan Kocken, Tobias Madison, Arild Tveito, Joseph Beuys, Sommer & Kohl Gallery, Edinburgh Annuale, Peter J. Amdam, Markus Thor Andresson, Fanny Gonella, Rasmus Thirup Beck, Anna Franck, Lorenzo Cirrincione, Keren Cytter, Bill Drummond, Anna Franck, Gilbert & George, Nate Harrison, Iselin Linstad Hauge, Karl Holmqvist, Jason Hwang, Marte Johnslien, Ray Johnson, Brian Kennon, Svein Kojan, Pablo Larios, David Lewis, Tobias Madison, Han Nefkens, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Tommy Olsson, Matt Packer, Société Réaliste, Dr. Nina Pearlman, Joe Scanlan, Chris Sharp, Kristian Skylstad, Dag Erik Elgin.