The Wire #363

The Wire #363
Author: Chris Bohn (Ed.)
Publisher: The Wire
Language: English
Size: 28.1 x 23.1 cm
Weight: 225 g
Binding: Softcover
Availability: In stock
Price: €7.00
Add Items to Cart
Product Description

The Compiler
A 22 page survey of paradigm-busting compilations, anthologies, mail order lists, mixtapes and other collections

Marshall Allen
Val Wilmer reveals the true story of the Sun Ra Arkestra leader’s formative years in the Paris interzone

Invisible Jukebox Okkyung Lee
The nomadic cello virtuoso gets strung up with The Wire’s mystery record selection. Tested by Kurt Gottschalk

Inga Copeland
Former Hype Williams vocalist doing it for herself. By Joseph Stannard

The war’s not over for ex-Rock In Opposition campaigner Mick Hobbs. By Mike Barnes

Nat Birchall
The UK saxophonist is evangelizing for spiritual jazz. By Francis Gooding

Jack Ruby
70s New Yorkers who forged a path between punk and synth madness. By Edwin Pouncey

Collateral Damage
Neil Young’s Pono player simplifies the debate over digital sound. By Philip Brophy

Global Ear Delhi
Josh Feola enters the Indian city’s electronica underground

Cross Platform Eric Chenaux
The Canadian musician amps up his AV project with Eric Cazdyn. By Clive Bell

The Inner Sleeve
Peanut Butter Wolf on Prince’s Controversy poster

Arto Lindsay lists his significantly other musical moments

Print Run
New music books: Serge Gainsbourg’s masterpiece, boring formless nonsense, knowledge for mutants, plus: Is It My Body? Kim Gordon’s critical writing. By Britt Brown

On Screen
New films and DVDs: Ernst Schmidt Jr’s Viennese action films

On Site
Recent exhibitions: Carole Schneemann plus Sexing Sound: Aural Archives And Feminist Scores

On Location
Recent festivals, gigs and clubs: AV Festival, North East England, UK; Evolving Music, New York, US; Nathaniel Mann + Dead Rat Orchestra, Oxford, UK; Monomania, Cambridge, UK; The Necks, London, UK

Sound Check A–Z

Peter Ablinger
Tetuzi Akiyama & Anla Courtis
Thomas Ankersmit
The Bad Plus
Jac Berrocal
Graham Collier
Jon Collin
Alan Courtis & Aaron Moore
John Duncan & Jim O’Rourke
Eno & Hyde
Ben Frost
Arch Garrison
Luke Haines
Joseph Hammer
Charles Hayward
Arve Henriksen
Hurricanes Of Love
Vijay Iyer
Kemialliset Ystävät
Kronos Quartet
Klaus Lang
LCD Soundsystem
Klara Lewis
Arto Lindsay
Francisco López
Los Condenados
Metá Metá
Maria Minerva
Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble
Meredith Monk
William Onyeabor
Fatima Al Qadiri
Winfried Ritsch
Akio Suzuki
Akio Suzuki & Aki Onda
Various Anastenaria
Various Beyond Addis
Various Fabriclive 75: Elijah And Skilliam
Various Songs Of Townes Van Zandt: Volume 2
VHS Head
Gary Wilson
Wooden Wand

The Boomerang

Brunhild & Luc Ferrari
Larry Heard
Abd Al-Hayy Hilmi
Jack Ruby
Josef K
Booker Little
K Leimer
Living Music
Thelonious Monk
Jean-Claude Risset
Various Inner City Beat
Leslie Winer
Roland Young