12 Sun Songs

12 Sun Songs
Author: Cranfield and Slade
Publisher: Or Gallery
Language: -
Pages: -
Size: 31,5 x 31,5 cm
Weight: 480 g
Binding: -
Availability: In stock
Price: €15.00
Add Items to Cart
Product Description

Cranfield and Slade: 12 Sun Songs is a yellow vinyl album made up of covers of pop songs about the sun. Aping a 1970s concept album Cranfield and Slade present twelve songs arranged to represent a day, beginning with songs about sunrise and winding down with songs about sunsets. Tracks range from classics such as George Harrison’s Here Comes the Sun and The Kinks’ Waterloo Sunset, to the lesser-known Sun by singer-songwriter Margot Guryan and Where Evil Grows by Vancouver’s The Poppy Family. The album combines field recordings made in various Vancouver locations with electronic sound and acoustic and electric instruments.

Based in rainy Vancouver, Cranfield and Slade are made up of visual artist Kathy Slade and artist/musician Brady Cranfield, working with musicians including Larissa Loyva (Piano, Kellarissa), Johnny Payne (Victoria Victoria, The Shilos), and Chris Harris (Piano, Parks and Rec, The Secret Three, Womankind); and special guests John Collins (The New Pornographers, The Evaporators) and artist Rodney Graham (The Rodney Graham Band, UJ3RK5).

The liner notes for 12 Sun Songs were written by celebrated Canadian poet and critic Peter Culley.

Published with JRP Ringier in the Christoph Keller Edition series.